Demand and Supply

Working in the field of supply chain has taught me that what we expect about demand and supply never happens almost all the time. It’s always easier to believe the theory but really, who would know that the so called strategy in winning over deals only work in theory.

I learned something about God’s provision a week ago, at the art studio. While chatting with my teacher, I casually brought up the subject of the upcoming art competition. I wasn’t even thinking of joining. In fact, I wanted to say that I wasn’t certain about it. The next thing I knew, my teacher asked if I brought a big canvas. When I said no, she started looking around in her studio and gave me a canvas. It was a used canvas but nevertheless, it can be used. So she started guiding me and I spent hours painting on the canvas and thoughts started dropping in my head.

When God orders you to do something, He will back you up. In my case, it could be joining the competition or simply doing that big art work for my solo exhibition. The point is, He will supply my needs.

Philippians 4:19 King James Version (KJV)

19 But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

How He supplies our needs is up to Him. I might have been looking for a big white canvas but He supplied me with a big used canvas. In my eyes, I might not have been able to know that the used canvas can still be worked on. But God sees everything (and everyone). Similarly, I think we sometimes have the tendency to label a person useless or hopeless in the sense that we can’t see any redeemable quality in him/her but the Lord sees their heart.

1 Samuel 16:7 English Standard Version (ESV)

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”

 

