Just Daydreaming

There’s one festivity and two days that I don’t like in every year. Chinese New Year, Valentine’s Day and Chinese Valentine’s Day.

Chinese New Year – because there was a time when relatives who visit would keep asking when it would be my turn to get married (as if one is born in life to grow up, work, get married, have children and die). But this is getting better since most of our regular visitors reside in another country.

Valentine’s Day – because I often wonder why there is a need to shower one’s girlfriend/lover/wife with roses/chocolates etc on Valentine’s Day at the office. I guess I’m just the kind of person that feels that my significant other (if there’s ever going to be one) will only need me to know his true feelings; and not my entire office.

Chinese Valentine’s Day – again – perhaps it’s just me. But everything is just so commercialized. So much so that the message I seem to see is “tell them you love them only on Valentine’s Day”.  And so, restaurants and cafes use take the opportunity to hike up the prices for lovebirds etc…

So, remember to treasure your loved ones daily (not only on Valentine’s Day).

If you’re single, go out and celebrate you! You are special and Designer-made. God made only one you and not clones. Celebrate that. If you’re the hopeless romantic, I hope you have the best back hug from the one you love (understand that sometimes it’s one sided, so this can be a miracle or a wishful thought).

And for those whose heart longs for that one person (who doesn’t know he/she exists)…. it’s ok to not feel ok at times and feel sad while you’re waiting. However, go out there and celebrate you. Go out there and eat at a good restaurant, enjoy a good movie or spa… and trust in God that He knows the best.

 

