What Is Your Temperature?

While I was busy working away in the morning, the alert I received on my phone distracted me. My good friend was sounding off his frustration. A quick look at the foreign exchange rates sent several thoughts spinning in my head. I thought about the property I bought in the middle of the year and was reminded of the uncertainties around us which includes our jobs etc… It’s not the turmoil in the political arena that caused me to think those thoughts but those are facts. Many things in the world are performance-driven. (Hint: ROI, Earnings per share etc…)

The only way for me to describe is the scene I saw in one of my dreams, many years ago.

I was in a tower and I could see many tornados. What I saw was a dark gloomy sky surrounded by chaos. However I was safe because I was in the tower with a roof covering my head. Amazingly it was as if much of the tower was gone except the foundation and frame along with the roof. I could feel the strong winds blowing but I was standing firm.

That was the entire dream.

Still staring at the foreign exchange rate, I sensed the LORD speaking to my spirit. Suddenly there was quietness. The what-ifs that were attacking my mind like arrows stopped. It felt like time stood still and I sensed His closeness. Throughout the day, He asked me questions, not because He didn’t know the answers but He wanted to show me what was in my heart.

The Q&A session went something like this (paraphrased).

Who gives you money?”

Well, I work to get paid.

Who gave you a job?”

The company did.

Who gave you skills and abilities?”

You did.

What is your temperature?”

… (Pause)

I don’t understand.

I know.”

Then I threw all sorts of what if questions to Him.

What if I lose my job? What if I have to sell the property? What if things never get better in my country? What if people were right suggesting that I migrate? What if I never get married? What if I grow old alone? What if I die alone in my future home and nobody realizes that I’m gone?

What if…What if…What if….

Does it matter?”

Yes.

Who gave you life?”

You did.

I will take care of you. Do you trust Me?”

 

In the evening, I heard His voice again while I was still cleaning up the kitchen.

What is your temperature?”

… (Pause)

This is hard. I need to really hold on to You tightly and depend fully on You.

That is the right place to be.”

… (Pause)

Do you long for heaven?”

Yes.

What is your temperature?”

 

I guess you can say that I feel like I was at Jacob’s well with Jesus the whole day yesterday. I felt broken in the morning and I wept because He revealed to me what I could not see, … my heart. So, what is the real issue? I had problems trusting Him. To be exact, I had problems trusting Him to take care of me the way I wanted to be cared for. I realize today that it’s a daily choice I need to make.

Trusting God is a daily choice. If we are not careful, our possessions could end up being our idols. Even we could be our own idols. If God is not our highest priority, we have an idol in our hearts.

Exodus 20:3-4 New Living Translation (NLT)

3 “You must not have any other god but me.

4 “You must not make for yourself an idol of any kind or an image of anything in the heavens or on the earth or in the sea.

I came to the realization that I need to choose to trust Him although things look bleak and that everything’s spiraling out of control. I also need to choose to trust that He knows how to look after me. It will be His way, not my way.

 

Matthew 10:28-30 Amplified Bible (AMP)

28 Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; but rather be afraid of Him who can destroy both soul and body in hell. 29 Are not two little sparrows sold for a [a]copper coin? And yet not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. 30 But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered [for the Father is sovereign and has complete knowledge].

 

When He asked me about my temperature, He was referring to my heart’s temperature? (Am I longing for His return, longing for heaven or am I getting so comfortable in this world that I forget where my eternal home is.

Matthew 6:21 New Living Translation (NLT)

21 Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.

What is your temperature?

