Little Me in the Big World

Have you ever had one of those moments when you feel very small? I can’t pinpoint what triggered that feeling. Maybe when I saw someone last Sunday, it made me compare again. I know it’s wrong but when I saw her, the first thought that entered my mind was “wow! She has everything.” I started to wonder if anything good can even come from me. I almost couldn’t graduate at university, and I was never in the top 10 at class. I spent most of my free time in the school library when I was at primary school and I read Encyclopaedia Brittanica as if it’s a storybook. I was never in the popular group at high school because my eyes and nose were stuck in some book, somewhere. Yet, with all the reading, it’s not like I aced through my exams.

It’s that familiar statement. “I am not _______ enough.” Fill in the blank. Some possible words are intelligent, successful, pretty, tall, thin, rich, influential, etc….Those thoughts were wearing me down. Then I came across a verse while I was studying the book of Zechariah. I knew God wanted me to pay attention to that verse but it took some time to really dissect it.

Zechariah 4:10 Living Bible (TLB)

10 Do not despise this small beginning, for the eyes of the Lord rejoice to see the work begin, to see the plumb line in the hand of Zerubbabel. For these seven lamps represent the eyes of the Lord that see everywhere around the world.”

Although (context-wise) this verse is referring to the new temple, I felt like God wanted to show me that I have to change the way I see things. I’ve never “despised” small beginnings (project-wise) but I was beginning to lose sight of that promise that He will complete the good work He started in me.

Philippians 1:6 Living Bible (TLB)

And I am sure that God who began the good work within you will keep right on helping you grow in his grace until his task within you is finally finished on that day when Jesus Christ returns.

 

