Feeling Like The Little Mermaid, At Times…

How did it start? Perhaps just by looking at the pictures posted in a FB page. There they were, standing in a group looking so cosy. Suddenly I heard that familiar song playing in my head. (Or, it could be my imagination?) Remember that scene when Ariel, the mermaid sang, “Part of Your World”. (Lyrics by Howard Ashman)

“Up where they walk, up where they run
Up where they stay all day in the sun
Wandering free
Wish I could be, part of that world”

Read more: Disney – Part Of Your World Lyrics | MetroLyrics

I still find the need to remind myself that it’s okay. I do not need to have the gifts and talents that they have. I do not need to belong to that group. God created me unique and I should continue to explore my own gifts and use it.

Psalm 139:13-14 New King James Version (NKJV)

13 For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
14 I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;[a]
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.

It’s better to allow the Almighty Potter to shape me to be the person He created me to be, and not strive to be someone else.

1 Corinthians 12:21 New King James Version (NKJV)

21 And the eye cannot say to the hand, “I have no need of you”; nor again the head to the feet, “I have no need of you.”

It’s not so much the struggle for significance but to feel a sense of belonging. Then I’m reminded that I do belong to God.

Psalm 100:3 New Living Translation (NLT)

Acknowledge that the Lord is God!
    He made us, and we are his.[a]
    We are his people, the sheep of his pasture.

