His Eye Is On The Sparrow

Matthew 10:29-31 Amplified Bible (AMP)

29 Are not two little sparrows sold for a [a]copper coin? And yet not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. 30 But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered [for the Father is sovereign and has complete knowledge]. 31 So do not fear; you are more valuable than many sparrows.

A friend of my mother was placed in a nursing home not long ago. She’s not married and her relative has been taking care of her, until their maid had to go home. In times like this, it does make me think about that infamous question, “what will happen to me when I get old?” At times it scares me to think about it and other times, I tell myself I will be okay. Then there are times when I ask myself where my true security lies.

I would never agree to that statement, “if you don’t get married, who will take care of you? If you don’t have children, who will look after you when you are older?” Truth be told, I know people who thought that their son/daughter would look after them when they’re older – but their son/daughter dies and meanwhile, they are still alive. What then?

The thing is, one never knows what would happen. Many times, life just doesn’t happen the way we planned.

I’ve learned to cling to Jesus.

Psalm 16:5-7 Good News Translation (GNT)

You, Lord, are all I have,
    and you give me all I need;
    my future is in your hands.
How wonderful are your gifts to me;
    how good they are!

 

Leave a Reply

