The Right Timing

Ecclesiastes 3:1 New King James Version (NKJV)

Everything Has Its Time

To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven:

The message delivered by  my pastor yesterday spoke to my soul. For the past few days, I’ve been thinking, perhaps I should have done this or that earlier and not wait till now. Perhaps I’ve missed out on some things because of decisions of the past. But I’m glad that I am serving a living God.

I recall those times when I was in a way, being pushed to acquire a property, the anguish I went through, sleepless nights wondering how I would be able to come up with the figure for the downpayment etc… and how I was going to stretch my finances to be able to cover for my finances. Somehow, it all felt wrong and out of time. Praise the Lord that my earthly father said no. After seeking God about it, I made my decision to wait. It sounded ridiculous to many back then. The price of real estate kept going up, obviously faster than my own salary, and I got older too. But God knew what He’s doing. Sometimes it is really difficult to see the truth when one is clouded by facts.

Then the number of affordable housing projects increased. Even so, I decided to wait…I’m almost done with the car loan. Suddenly, my friend suggested that I take a look at one of the upcoming projects – which I did. I was a bit worried about it being leasehold initially so I pushed it behind my mind. Saw a few other projects and they didn’t feel right. Finally, I went back to the one recommended by my friend. It felt right. Did the math and found that I can afford the downpayment and the location is right too. Even the colour theme is so right. (White and Blue)

2 Peter 3:8 New King James Version (NKJV)

But, beloved, do not forget this one thing, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

 He knew even then that this project would come up and so I was to wait. And I thank God that I waited. And, what we may take years to do, God can turn make it happen in just 1 day.

Moving according to the timing of God is much better than rushing in at your own timing, relying on your own limited wisdom.

Leave a Reply

