Riding On The Roller Coaster

When was the last time you took the roller coaster? My first (and last) ride on the roller coaster was in Disney World, Florida. Until today, I still can’t believe that I actually rode the Kumba with my sister and brother in-law. I remember how it felt like, knowing that there’s no way out, once everyone was “buckled up”. Of course, my sister and my brother in-law were excited to bits. I was trying to calm down. I think my eyes were closed most of the time but when they were open, so was my mouth and the scream that left it. They said that screaming would help lessen the fear. Really? ‘cos I came out of the ride wondering where I left my stomach.

But I think the real roller coaster is life itself with its unpredictable highs and lows. Sometimes when I read the news, I just wonder how it would’ve been like if I had the opportunity to stay back in Canada. How much of a difference would it have made? I think about my friend who has passed on, and what he would have done if he’s still alive today. Maybe he would’ve been a really famous photographer.

As my colleagues talk about their kids, I talk about my nieces and nephews; and I wondered if I would’ve gotten married if I stayed back in Canada. Perhaps, the chances would have been higher there. But perhaps God knew all along that I never had the maternal instinct that makes women all gooey at the sight of babies. I probably get that way towards puppies but not babies. Even the girl whom I know when she was a teen, said that she wanted to be my flower girl or maid of honour if I got married… Today, she has her own son.

I think what got me thinking of the what ifs was news of Jonathan Crombie’s passing. Those of you who watched the Anne of Green Gables series would know him as the boy next door “Gilbert Blythe”…

He’s just 48. I’m not that far away from that number myself. I’m beginning to enjoy smelling the roses more often. Many times, it’s the little things in life that are special.

Ecclesiastes 1:2-4New Living Translation (NLT)

Everything Is Meaningless

“Everything is meaningless,” says the Teacher, “completely meaningless!”

What do people get for all their hard work under the sun? Generations come and generations go, but the earth never changes.

 

Leave a Reply

