Selective Hearing

Many years ago, when I was still going to temples with my mother, I would go to a special area where I could ask a question or pray for an upcoming results. I would then insert a coin (20 cents) and there’s a spinning wheel which would spin when the coin was inserted. When it stopped, I would see what number the arrow was pointing at and I’d go to another section to collect a sheet of paper with that number to see the “answer” to my question. I remember asking about my exam results and receiving a totally odd answer,…my first child would be a girl. Of course, when I embraced the Christian faith, I’ve dismissed all that and stopped going to temples.

As I grew older, I realised that it’s actually not that difficult to hear the Holy Spirit. It’s just that sometimes I have selective hearing. Sometimes, what we’re asked to do can be painful to the flesh,.. like praying for someone we don’t really like.  Other times, His voice comes like thoughts dropping on my head when I’m thinking of something else. (Example: I could be concentrating hard on what I’m planning to do on the weekend and I get interrupted by a voice. eg. “Check your car tyres and battery”, “Did you lock your car?” or “Take that road.” )

Quite recently, at a meeting, when I was concentrating hard on a subject, I heard the same voice asking me to pray for someone. (Name withheld for privacy.) I felt myself asking the Lord if He was joking. Of course, I knew He wasn’t.

I had thought of looking for greener pastures but I was led to Jeremiah 29, where I realised God said to the captives He had exiled to Babylon to “build homes and plan to stay.” I wondered why but again, the reality of verse 11 sank in. He has plans for my life, and perhaps I’m just not ready to know. Perhaps my character hasn’t been transformed enough to carry out what He has for me.

Jeremiah 29:4-5 New King James Version (NKJV)

Thus says the Lord of hosts, the God of Israel, to all who were carried away captive, whom I have caused to be carried away from Jerusalem to Babylon:

Build houses and dwell in them; plant gardens and eat their fruit.

Leave a Reply

