What Are You Dwelling On?

I know I have a call in writing. I just don’t know if I’m supposed to write stories, letters, essays, or poetry. As a child, I wrote a lot and I had imaginary friends. Even my small pillows had names and I could easily make up a story about the pillows. My relatives and friends have given me pens as gifts. I had actually forgotten about that but memories came back when my pastor (one day) prophesied that God would use me in my writing. That was when bits and pieces of the past somehow fall into place.  So, I’ve been seeking the Lord to get a direction on what I’m supposed to write although I’m eager to write fiction or just about anything that I’m inspired to write. Honestly, I’ve spent so much time thinking about writing, making plans on writing a book but never actually writing. It’s time to stop dwelling on those thoughts and start writing.

This morning, the devotion that I read led me to Ephesians 4:29. (Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.) I think I’ve finally heard from God what He wants me to write. I should write words that build people according to their needs and words that minister His grace to them. Whether I write letters, poetry, short stories or even books, I will write to (οἰκοδομὴν) encourage and build.

Romans 14:19 King James Version (KJV)

19 Let us therefore follow after the things which make for peace, and things wherewith one may edify another.

Ephesians 5:4 King James Version (KJV)

Neither filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor jesting, which are not convenient: but rather giving of thanks.

One thought on “What Are You Dwelling On?

Leave a Reply

