This Is The Day…

I managed to wake up earlier than usual this morning. Perhaps I went to bed earlier last night but then again, maybe God woke me up before all the distractions start pouring in. I started reading the morning devotion and instead of meditating on the verse, I thought about all outstanding issues at the workplace that I had to face and how I dreaded the day. Suddenly I was reminded of Psalm 118:24.

Psalm 118:24 New Living Translation (NLT)

24 This is the day the Lord has made.
    We will rejoice and be glad in it.

I had to ask the Lord to forgive me because I had made the problems bigger than Him. How am I going to rejoice when the situations around give me more reasons to lose hope instead of rejoice. I felt the Spirit of God ask me if it’s not enough to know that He is in control of everything. Then, I had a eureka moment. Maybe the situations are bleak but I can still rejoice and be thankful because God’s endures forever. (Psalm 118:1)

I rejoice because He wants what is best for me. (Jeremiah 29:11). I can rejoice and be glad because He wants me to cast all my burdens to Him, and therefore have peace of mind. (1 Peter 5:7).

Suddenly, Monday doesn’t feel that bad anymore. No, it doesn’t mean that all my problems disappear but I rejoice because God loves me, and I choose to expect good things coming my way.

Romans 8:24-25 Good News Translation (GNT)

24 For it was by hope that we were saved; but if we see what we hope for, then it is not really hope. For who of us hopes for something we see? 25 But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.

2 thoughts on “This Is The Day…

Leave a Reply

