Just A Small Potato Among Pumpkins and a Melon

If there was ever a day that I felt really small, it would be yesterday. I had to represent my manager in a meeting. She had told me that not everyone was invited but only a selected group. I agreed to represent her without knowing who else would be there. Thank God who sent someone along my way to guide me to where the meeting room was. It wasn’t even listed in the directory, so the chance meeting with a lady who was walking to her office was indeed a blessing from God. Serendipity!

Psalm 8:4 The Voice (VOICE)

I can’t help but wonder why You care about mortals—
    sons and daughters of men—
    specks of dust floating about the cosmos.

Guess what though… I had to sit among the group of managers, and a senior manager. Hence, that feeling like being a potato among pumpkins and a melon. Everyone’s introduction was like “I am,…… My team is involved in…. ” Mine was different, “I am,… representing….”

Suddenly, (like just a few minutes ago – as I’m writing this post),..a thought struck my head – which I believe came from the Lord. “Why do you focus so much on what you are among others? Focus on Me.” I was reminded of this verse.

Exodus 3:14 New Life Version (NLV)

14 And God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” And He said, “Say to the Israelites, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”

Again…suddenly,.. the realization of being an ambassador of Christ makes me feel so honoured, and special. Suddenly, it doesn’t matter anymore that I never made it to the elite teams in my former schools, and never made it to the dean’s list,… but God loves me…a small potato. Yes, that small potato that sometimes feels like throwing shoes at annoying people at the workplace. God loves me.

2 Corinthians 5:20 Amplified Bible (AMP)

20 So we are Christ’s ambassadors, God making His appeal as it were through us. We [as Christ’s personal representatives] beg you for His sake to lay hold of the divine favor [now offered you] and be reconciled to God.

Jeremiah 1:5 New Living Translation (NLT)

“I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb.
    Before you were born I set you apart
    and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.”

One thought on “Just A Small Potato Among Pumpkins and a Melon

Leave a Reply

