The Fault In Our Stars – Review

I can’t remember the last movie that made me cry although I know several Korean dramas that brought tears to my eyes. The truth is, I didn’t know what to expect when I saw the sneak preview in the cinema. I remember asking myself constantly, “Why is she wearing that tube-like thingy almost all the time?” The poster had me fooled, I thought it would have a happy ending. Not a bittersweet ending.

What I like best about the story is that it’s different… it’s not the typical romance where you get a happily ever after between two individuals that are healthy and very likely fashionable too.

Of course this one’s got a bittersweet ending but it’s heartrending to see the romance between two people who are struggling with cancer. And really, the typical things people can say to young love is, “No it’s not love. It’s puppy love. Infatuation.”

But if you read that book (or watch the movie), that kind of love felt between Gus & Hazel Grace goes much much deeper.

 

Leave a Reply

