Tai Chi and Other Things

Would you agree that it’s difficult to trust the people you work with? The longer I am in the workforce, I find that it gets more and more difficult to trust people. Perhaps that’s why I draw a line between colleagues and friends.

Working life feels like playing ping-pong although there are many players and many ping-pong balls. If you’re unlucky, you have many balls flying towards you. Is it human nature to want a handsome pay and yet do the least possible for it?

A colleague of mine was trying to teach me the art of “tai chi”. “You’re too straight,” she said to me on Friday. It seemed that each time I tell her that my portfolio is increasing, she’d comment that I should tell my boss that it should be given to someone else. But who am I to tell the boss who she should assign more responsibilities to? I was reminded that if I don’t start defending myself and start using the “tai chi” skills, I would end up getting more and more things to do.

Perhaps I don’t feel like I need to defend myself because God will defend me. I believe that God has great plans for me. I just need to abide in Him. But they just don’t seem to understand.

Psalm 18:2

King James Version (KJV)

The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

Leave a Reply

