Staying Healthy to Serve

I am being reminded about my age whenever I meet friends whom I met when I was one of the youth leaders in church. Most of them have grown up and have children of their own. I’ve attended their weddings. Obviously, they too now have their own “spiritual children”. Then the reminder pops up,… the big “40”. Actually, it’s 41 this year.

Of course when I was in my 20s, I had the energy to literally drive the youths to church for meetings, drive them back home, outings etc… but I definitely don’t have that energy today.

Then I had the knee injury two years ago. (Yikes! It’s been two years.) This had made me slower and less active for fear of re-injuring them. My right knee has definitely made very good progress. My left knee is somewhat temperamental. This led me to the supplements that I’m taking. I spotted an advert on “Good Joints” and was led to find out more about it. So, I walked into that shop and after hearing them out, I decided to buy 1 bottle to try it out. Then the salesperson showed me an equipment and he used that equipment to look at my blood vessels.. At first I thought it was interesting, then by looking at some of the blood vessels that had poor circulation, he guessed out (correctly) that I haven’t slept much lately. (Blame it on Candy Crush!). Also guessed out that I sometimes take supper and I am a coffee drinker…all that by looking at the blood vessels. Of course, salesmen do what they’re supposed to do. They introduce another product, which obviously I bought although I’ve not started taking the other supplement.

I have however started taking “Good Joints” and I am supposed to start feeling the (positive) effects within 2 weeks but I think I’m feeling it a bit today (it’s just the 2nd day since I started taking them.) Will definitely write more about it after a few more weeks. If they’re indeed very good,..I’m going to be a loyal customer.

On one hand, I trust God that I will live well (I don’t need to live till 100) but I still want to serve Him in whatever creative skills He has given me. But I’ve got to play my part by maintaining my health too.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

American Standard Version (ASV)

19 Or know ye not that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit which is in you, which ye have from God? and ye are not your own;

20 for ye were bought with a price: glorify God therefore in your body.

Leave a Reply

