Can You Keep A Secret?

How good are you at keeping secrets? I try to avoid getting myself caught in sticky situations. Here’s an example : If you have an older brother who is dating and he shares his secret with you. He says to you, “Don’t tell mom and dad. Stella and I have been dating for some time.” On the other end, your parents tell you, “You’re the closest to your older brother. Do you know if he’s dating anyone? If he is, you need to let us know. There’s this really sweet girl that we want to introduce him to.” What would your reaction be? Tell your parents the truth because you don’t want to lie? But that would be spilling the beans. Or tell your brother at the very start that you prefer not to know his secret?

I’ve had my own share of experience to know that it’s better to keep your dreams (goals) a secret and not tell anyone prematurely. It hurts when family members mock your dreams, and frustrating when they try to make you live theirs or pursue something they believe would be worth pursuing. (But what makes their dreams worthy, and not yours? Is it money?) I once made the mistake  about sharing my interest to someone related to me. I knew she was studying for a course. So I shared with her my intention to take up a certain course, and immediately heard something along this line, “It’s a  waste of money, I tell you. You should take this other course because you can make money freelancing.” Why is it always about money? And what if what I’m seeking for can’t be bought with money?

Anyway, before I could even take mini-steps in pursuing that interest, she had already wounded me. What happened? I gave it up.

But this time it’s different. I decided to guard my dreams and share to very few people whom I know either share the same passion with me, or they’re there to pray for me.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Amplified Bible (AMP)

5 Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight orunderstanding.

6 In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

Leave a Reply

