The “Magic Chair”

I had a very strange dream a few weeks ago. In the dream, I saw a grand looking chair but it wasn’t just any chair. Somehow, it converts itself to whatever I need. When I wanted to get from one place to another, I saw myself sitting down on the chair and it moved to my destination. When I was tired, it became my resting place etc… I spent sometime thinking about that dream and seeking God for revelation.

To me, a chair is somewhere I can sit and rest when I’m tired. I suppose if the chair is big enough, I could also hide from people I prefer not to see, or hide from those who always give me a hard time… something like security albeit hiding from people doesn’t always work all the time. Then a thought struck me : when I’ve had a hard day at work, all I want to do is sit down and do nothing and practically laze around.  I’ve never once wondered if the chair would hold my weight. I hardly inspect the chair before sitting down. I don’t think people do that. So, the question is why do people find it easy to believe in the chair’s goodness (ie. stability and endurance) but find it difficult to believe in the goodness of God? Yes, I have my own share of struggles. But the LORD has ways to reassure me.

Since it’s the last day of 2013, I decided to send this package to God. The contents include my concerns on the changes in the company reorganizing structures, the possibility of having a different manager, my concerns for my own health (my knees)…etc
Do you have such a package? It’s time to rest on Him.

Psalm 46:1

King James Version (KJV)

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

Psalm 116:7

New International Version (NIV)

7 Return to your rest, my soul,
for the Lord has been good to you.

Leave a Reply

