Above all, love…

I thought really hard whether or not I should post this. Initially I wanted to put it aside but something in my heart is stirring me to write this.

It started when I received an email from a friend telling me that one of her friends has decided to boycott a certain product because of certain viewpoints. (I won’t disclose the details lest I get all sorts of comments for standing my ground. And please don’t assume anything…) Basically, I don’t feel that I’m being robbed off my peace even if I continue buying those products. It doesn’t mean I condone the viewpoints held by the CEO of that company. My views and beliefs concerning my faith remains. My principles do not change even though they’ve become less popular.

I don’t see the point of boycotting – if I wanted to boycott everyone else and live in a cave because not everyone will share my views. What’s the point of letting your light shine when there’s only you in the “cave”? Is that love?

1 Corinthians 13:1-3,13

New King James Version (NKJV)

The Greatest Gift

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. 2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned,[a]but have not love, it profits me nothing.

13 And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

 

Leave a Reply

