Wanted: Hope

A friend and I had a serious discussion this morning, although she’s miles away. It started when I expressed sadness about the rise in suicide cases. Have people become less tough? Or do they give up more easily now? I am not saying that I understand what they went through, that drove them to suicide. I just feel saddened. 

I know how it feels to look at my artworks hanging on the wall. All my works are precious to me, whether or not others appreciate them. The point is I appreciate them. I felt immense pleasure creating them. So, it makes me wonder how God must’ve felt. I think His heart aches deeply for those that have made the choice to end their lives. No, I don’t have all the answers to why bad things happen to good people or the deep and profound questions. I was asked what I think will happen to them. I don’t know.  Is suicide sin? Yes, after all, it’s taking one’s life. I also believe that when Christ died, He died for our sins, once and for all. All means all. I believe there is only one “unpardonable sin” and that’s permanently rejecting Christ. (http://christiananswers.net/q-eden/unpardonablesin.html)

But I do know that if you cling to God, there is always hope. And He’s really not that far away. I’m not saying this because I have a problem-free life, but it’s because of these problems and dark valleys that I realised that God is very real. He has always been there for me, in good and bad times. Sometimes, it’s through comforting words from friends. 

None of your problems is too trivial for Him. If it bothers you, it bothers Him. I remember the time when I was back in Penang for my summer break, waiting for my exam results. Being a scholarship student, I’ve always felt the pressure to perform academically, or I risked losing my scholarship. I remember feeling so worried about my exam results. I couldn’t confide in anyone and therefore, the pressure kept building up. Then one night I had a dream. In my dream, I saw a highway with a big road sign that says “Trust Me!” 

I hope this encourages you. God bless.

1 Peter 3:18

18 Christ suffered and died for sins once for all. He never sinned and yet He died for us who have sinned. He died so He might bring us to God. His body died but His spirit was made alive. (NLV)

Leave a Reply

