Have You Been Tai Chi-ed?

One moment you’re happily managing your existing workload. The next moment, you get called and informed that your portion has increased and someone else’s has decreased. Apparently he/she has no time and is having a hairball of a time handling something that was recently transferred to him/her. (For simplicity’s sake, I’ll use “him/he” as reference.) Oh but wait a minute, you’ve always seen him coming in late in the morning and coming back from lunch late. Guess what! There’s also an extended water-cooler time where he meets with other guys to find out what’ happening…a.k.a gossip. You’ve been tai-chi-ed. Someone has “pushed” his/her workload to you.

This happened to me today. Just as it happened to me a year and a half ago, by the same person. I’d be a complete liar if I say that I wasn’t mad at all. Wasn’t it just this morning when I read the morning devotion about trusting (and obeying) God? Oswald Chambers wrote the following, “Faith is deliberate confidence in the character of God whose ways you may not understand at the time.” Applying it is definitely tough.

I need to remind myself that God is not blind about the unfairness. While I definitely do not understand how He is working through this, I will just need to surrender.  Obedience must follow trust.

Jeremiah 29:11

New International Version (NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

 

Leave a Reply

