It Happened At The Mall

PlayfulKissPosterSpent the past 2 days watching 장난스런 키스, otherwise known as Playful Kiss.  It’s not that I’ve not seen this Korean series before but somehow the silliness in the show never fails to make me laugh. This TV series evolves around these 2 main characters, Oh Ha Ni and Baek Song Ju. Watch how the characters develop through time, especially when Ha Ni and her father ended up living under the same roof with Song Ju and his family. You’d think that nothing interesting happens but guess what! Song Ju has been her crush for a long long time. It dragged on till they get to university. Song Ju is quite the character, so cold and mean towards Ha Ni and yet, deep down,… he was confused about his own feelings. For those of you who have experienced unrequited love, this series is definitely for you, especially if the feelings have always been one-sided. (Yeap! I know about it. Been there. Done that.)

This morning, I went out to the mall with my mom. As we were looking at the frozen food section, I thought I saw a familiar face. She was with a man, looking at the other end of the frozen food section. I wanted to say hi but as they walked closer, I saw him reaching to hold her hand and I quickly turned away just so that she doesn’t feel embarrassed when she sees me.

I’m happy that she has found someone to love, and who could return her feelings. However, I’m a little sad that she didn’t share the news with me. She and I used to share our ups and downs, and suddenly, it’s almost as if she’s in a different circle and I’m left behind. I guess I should’ve guessed it all along, she’s been more dressy, and even more fashionable lately. I should’ve suspected that she’s already seeing someone. So perhaps she really is busy at work, but then it now gets even more difficult to meet up with her on non-working days since she’d want to spend time with her boyfriend. Perhaps all this while, she’s been close to me, but I’m not close to her. Is that unrequited friendship?

Today, I feel like I need to close a chapter of my life and move on with a few new friends. I guess she has her own reasons for not wanting to share this news. Since I’m no longer that close to her, I’ll probably choose someone else to share my ups and downs with.

Here’s to friendship – especially those who remain close to us – regardless of their marital status.

 

 

Leave a Reply

