Be Like A Little Child

Sorry for being silent in the month of June. I was rather busy as my sister and her family came for a visit. I know I studied in Canada but I’m not sure if I’d still enjoy traveling that much. No doubt, I love visiting different countries but the long hours in the flight would be extremely boring. (Of course, unless there’s someone like John Stamos sitting next to me. (Check out the Oikos Greek Yogurt commercial.)

I had a good time with my nephews and niece from Florida. Yes, I did take a few days off work in order to spend some time at home. Confession time, I’m not exactly great with kids. (Don’t ask me why. Perhaps it’s because I’m the youngest in my family?) That’s part of the reason why I’m thankful I don’t have children because I don’t know how to interact with them. Most of them want to play and I am not good at playing. Put a drawing block and some colors and I can interact with them with art but it’s not easy to play.

However, I was certain that God wanted me to learn a few things from my experience.

Perception – My nephew Luke saw where I hid one of my gadgets and asked me why I hide it. I told him that hiding the gadget would make it more difficult for thieves to steal my gadget. He suggested that I fight the bad guy. I said maybe I wouldn’t be strong enough and I don’t want to risk my life. He said, “Call my daddy.” What he said made me laugh but a thought came to mind. Why do we sometimes not approach our father in heaven until we’ve tried our best to tackle the problems we face? Is it so difficult to ask God for guidance/help from the beginning? (I’m guilty as well – for trying to rely on self and forgetting that I serve a great God)

Job 38: 4-7 

NLT

“Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth?
Tell me, if you know so much.
5 Who determined its dimensions
and stretched out the surveying line?
6 What supports its foundations,
and who laid its cornerstone
7 as the morning stars sang together
and all the angels[a] shouted for joy?

 

Direct Access – For some reason, my niece was very attached to me. It seemed that I was the first person she looked for when she came downstairs. She got really excited whenever I didn’t have to go to the office, or when I got home early. She had so much to tell me. It dawned on me that I sometimes take it for granted and fail to appreciate the fact that we as believers have direct access to the  throne room now.

Ephesians 3:12

New Living Translation (NLT)

12 Because of Christ and our faith in him,[a] we can now come boldly and confidently into God’s presence.

 

Yes, I’m learning to spend more time with the Lord.

Leave a Reply

