Layer By Layer – Moment By Moment

In one of my art lessons, I learned a few techniques, eg. wet on wet, wet on dry, working on layers. There are occasions when you just need to wait it out. Waiting is required in order to achieve the desired effect. Well, I never liked waiting. I still don’t and I doubt anyone does. However sometimes I think God has a sense of humour because the very thing that makes me feel alive, ie. art, requires me to wait most of the time.

Looking back, I think He has been training me on the art of waiting since I was in my early teens. Yes, the long wait for the reply from someone dear to you. Remember looking at the mailbox when the postman would just ride by. Then, the wait for the exam results. I recall one summer, when I was back in Penang, waiting for my exam results to be mailed over from Waterloo, I became really agitated but I believe the Lord gave me a dream whereby I saw in the middle of a highway, there was a big road sign with two words – big and bold. “TRUST ME”.

Of course, one of the hardest waiting time is waiting to get recover fully, in which I’m still waiting but God is good. He shows Himself faithful by the little positive healing signs, although it did take time. I recall my visit to the chiropractor. I almost choked when he said, “You need patience!” I had to wonder if that God was using him to say something to me and my rebellious heart was saying “But I didn’t ask for patience, Lord!”

Since I’m still in this waiting room, I now believe that whatever He has in store for me to do in the future must require a lot of patience if I need that much preparation. One has to wonder what it is…and “I shall not be moved.

Psalm 62:1-2

Truly my soul silently waits for God;
From Him comes my salvation.
He only is my rock and my salvation;
He is my defense;
I shall not be greatly moved.

 

Leave a Reply

