And They Call It “Puppy Love”

A message I received on Facebook sent memories my way. An old friend of mine, John is coming to town. Of course, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this meet up happens.

John is someone I met when I was in my teens. He’s older than me, slightly younger than my sister. Basically my sister knew him before I got to know him. Although I can’t recall where I met him, I knew that the first time I saw him, I thought he has the most beautiful eyes for a Chinese, very tall and good-looking. He and my sister were good friends. When my sister left for the States, I met him a few times. For someone with a low profile (like myself), being seen with him gave a boost to my popularity.

Yes, I occasionally admired him from afar, even in the tuition classes. When he left for the States, I continued to carry a torch for him, even though he had a girlfriend. Of course, who I am today is not the same person as that doe-eyed girl from the past. He’s happily married and has children of his own. I’ve not seen him since 1998.

It will be so good to see him again. Of course, I will always remember those days. How can I forget those memories? Ah …those excuses I gave just to go for a car ride with him. Thank God he never knew about my feelings back then, so there was never any awkwardness. Today, he is like my very own brother and I’m often reminded of him whenever I see an aircraft in the sky.

I can’t wait to see him.

Leave a Reply

