Last Night & The Power Failure

Two weeks flew by without us realizing. There was so much to do, and so much to eat. Yes, I suppose when one migrates to another country, it’s difficult (impossible maybe?) to get Hokkien Mee, Laksa, etc… My younger niece absolutely loves the food at Feng Wei Restaurant in Penang. In the past two weeks, we have had dinner there more than 3 times. She had also insisted on dining there again yesterday evening.

After dinner, it was the last minute packing. The flight was 750am which meant that they had to be at the airport 2 hours ahead of time. I’m not sure who among us, had a good night’s sleep. It was difficult to sleep especially when there was a power failure at night. (It happened just as I was about to fall asleep. Of course, with the heat and the mosquitos, I didn’t end up sleeping.

It feels so odd after having them around for 2 weeks. It’s suddenly so quiet. Well, I learned a few words from my younger niece. “Poo face” and “bug face”. She’s so easily amused and sent me iMessages from her iPad to mine, even when she’s seated right next to me.

Well, it’d be another 1.5 years before our eyes meet again.

Leave a Reply

