He Listens

Hearing and listening are two different things, as I’ve known. When someone hears you speak, it doesn’t mean that he/she is listening. But I’m sure glad I serve a God who listens.

Yesterday, I had to go out somewhere and I couldn’t find a parking lot so I had to park in the alley. The problem is I couldn’t drive straight through because there were cars parked in front. Yet I knew it was going to be difficult reversing my way because there are other cars parked along the way too. Still, I had to get to my destination. As I walked to my destination, I started to worry. I started having many thoughts, eg. Maybe I need to leave my car overnight and take a cab home, maybe I will scrape my car (or other cars) while trying to reverse my way out. So, I prayed while I walked.

On my way back to my car, I realized I had not taken down the name of the road where that specific alley was. Hence, I couldn’t find my car for a while. I got even more worried when the dark clouds started to come in. I prayed to God and asked that He holds back the rain. Then I heard the still, small voice speaking to me, telling me to ask someone to guide me as I reversed. I didn’t know how that was possible as there were only 2 men and there were painting the wall quite high up.

When I finally found my car, I saw several workers standing on the ground and one of them was about to leave. Thankfully he was willing to help.

Psalm 34:17 The Message (MSG)

17 Is anyone crying for help? God is listening,
ready to rescue you.